Tracking Sound

In trying to consider what Malice-Upon-Woe would be like sonically, I have been looking around for things that I think represent the mood of the place. I have asked my friends, the Twittersphere and various places to find some pieces of music that I hope will help my sound designers consider what they might be trying to represent in Malice-Upon-Woe.

Here’s some of the stuff I’ve found. It’s not all completely suitable, but worth looking at. I will whittle it down when I want to give my sound designers an audio palette to work from.

For now, enjoy:

Legend
A collaboration between Japanese band Mono and Evosia Studios to create an epic landscape representation of Iceland. It’s very beautiful, very slow and orchestrally massive.

GodSpeed You! Black Emperor – East Hastings
Incredibly bleak, the second ‘section’ was famously used in 28 Days Later. I love this track.

A Silver Mt. Zion (Thee Silver Mt. Zion) – Broken Chords Can Sing A Little
A Silver Mt. Zion have changed title and lineup several times over the years. This is when they were still A Silver Mt. Zion. Very minimalist, bleak, gloomy. This is perfect.

Mogwai – Take Me Somewhere Nice
This track might actually be a little bit too cheerful or impart too much positivity for what I want to achieve, but the slow crescendo, the ordered building of the layers, the downbeat style. This is what I want. I want people to sit, and listen, and contemplate.

65daysofstatic – Radio Protector
Although 65daysofstatic are a bit more energetic than what I want, I really love this track. I love the energy and the emotion it conveys. This speaks to me of near-apocalyptic last-ditch attempts at survival. I want to be listening to this while I watch the meteor screaming towards earth.
(65daysofstatic also did a live soundtrack to Silent Running, which I still have yet to see, but I am looking forward to it.)

Sleep Party People – Heaven Is Above Us
This is more like what I think I am trying to achieve. Minimalist, haunting, misery. Finally, the ‘Suggested Videos’ tab on youtube shows something useful.

Red Sparowes – We Stood Transfixed in Blank Devotion as Our Leader Spoke to Us, Looking Down on Our Mute Faces with a Great, Raging, and Unseeing Eye
Red Sparowes, the band famous for having track titles which take longer to say than the songs themselves. Again, a slow built crescendos, minor keys, minimalist approach. I think there may be a theme growing here.

Explosions in the Sky – The Birth and Death of the Day
Crunchy guitars, loads of distortion, excellent. Again, this song is a bit too upbeat for what I want to achieve, but it’s a nice opener to an album.

Alva Noto & Ryuichi Sakamoto – Halo
A different kind of minimalism, this is a bit more glitchy than all of the previous stuff. Still, pretty much just a piano and a bit of production. This gives me ideas for a different direction to take in terms of sound design, making it a bit more production heavy.

Amon Tobin – Esther’s
Very dark track from the other end of the spectrum. Rather than going for crunchy guitars, this is dark and electronic. Again, perhaps another route to take instead of the slow build with organic sounds.

 

 

I think, from what I have found, I want dark, bleak, melancholy sounds built with perhaps a minimalist approach. An over-produced electronic sound, however, might be an interesting approach. I think it might depend on the story and what is happening in each episode, but in order to build a theme, these are good things to look at.

Leave a Reply

